A Special Joint Convention Meeting was held on Thursday April 11, 2024 in the City Council Chambers, 2nd floor of City Hall, 45 School St., Brockton, MA. Chairman Mayor Robert Sullivan presiding. The meeting was called to order at 6:00pm with eleven City Council members and Seven School Committee members present.

Chairman Mayor Sullivan thanked everyone for attending and the reason for this Special Joint Convention Meeting tonight is to elect a Ward One School Committee member for the unexpired term.

Chairman Mayor Sullivan requested the roll call be read into record for attendance.

Joyce Asack

Shirley Asack

Claudio Depina Gomes

Jean Bradley Derenoncourt

Winthrop Farwell Jr.

Philip Griffin

Jack Lally

Thomas Minichiello Jr.

Susan Nicastro

Ana Oliver

Moises Rodrigues

Tony Rodrigues

Judy Sullivan

Robert Sullivan

Timothy Sullivan

Maria Tavares

David Teixeira

Jeffrey Thompson

All present.

Councilor Asack motioned when the time comes to do a reverse roll call and was properly seconded by Dereonocourt. The motion carried by a hand vote.

SPECIAL JOINT CONVENTION OF THE BROCKTON SCHOOL COMMITTEE AND BROCKTON CITY COUNCIL AGENDA

45 School St., Brockton, MA Council Chambers, 2nd fl of City Hall

Thursday, April 11, 2024 6:00pm

174. Call of the meeting

Accepted and placed on file.

175. Officer's Return of Notice.

Accepted and placed on file.

City Clerk Timothy Cruise read into record.

176.In accordance with Sec. 36 of the City Charter, the City Council and the School Committee shall meet in joint convention to fill the vacancy in the Ward 1 School Committee to fill the unexpired term. All interested persons who desire to be considered by the Joint Convention of the Brockton City Council and Brockton School Committee to fill the vacant position of Ward 1 School Committee Member should submit to the City of Brockton, Office of the City Clerk, 45 School St., Brockton, MA 02301 or by Email at CityClerk@cobma.us no later than 4:30pm, April 5, 2024; a letter of interest, together with a resume as to the applicant's background and qualifications. Kindly note that any person applying for the vacant position of Ward 1 School Committee Member shall be a qualified voter; prepared to complete the remaining School Committee term; and a City of Brockton resident of Ward 1. In addition, any qualified applicant whose submission is filed as described above may choose to attend and be provided two (2) minutes to speak before the Joint Convention between the Brockton City Council and Brockton School Committee for the purpose of filling the above vacancy which is scheduled to take place at 6:00pm on Thursday, April 11, 2024, Brockton City Hall. 45 School St., Brockton, MA 02301, within the Brockton City Council Chambers.

All other related matters

Councilor Lally motioned to nominated the slate of candidates and was properly seconded by Council president Rodrigues.

Chairman Mayor Sullivan read the slate of candidates Elaine Gatewood

Nichole Gatling

Steven C. O'Malley

Jorge Vega

William Lee Wells III

The motion carried by a hand vote.

Candidates have been provided two (2) minutes to speak:

Elaine Gatewood

Nichole Gatling wasn't able to attend tonight's meeting

Steven C. O'Malley

Jorge Vega

William Lee Wells III

Chairman Mayor Sullivan stated at this time is questions and comment period each elected member is allowed to ask one question.

Elaine Gatewood

Questions and comments from:

Councilors Griffin, Lally, Derenonocourt, Minichiello, and Asack.

School Committee members Judy Sullivan, Timothy Sullivan, Ana Oliver, and Joyce Asack

Steven C. O'Malley

Questions and comments from:

Councilors Griffin, Lally, Minichiello, Asack, and Nicastro.

School Committee members Judy Sullivan, Timothy Sullivan, and Joyce Asack

Jorge Vega

Questions and comments from:

Councilors Lally, Farwell, Minichiello, Asack, Derenonocourt, and Griffin

School Committee members Joyce Asack, Ana Oliver, and Timothy Sullivan

Chairman Mayor Sullivan thanked Dr. James Cobbs for being present in the chambers.

William Lee Wells III

Questions and comments from:

Councilors Asack, Lally, Griffin, Minichiello, derenonocourt, and Farwell

School Committee members Joyce Asack, Claudio Depina Gomes, Anan Oliver, and

Timothy Sullivan

Chairman Mayor Sullivan thanked all candidates.

Clerk Cruise read into record the process

All candidates have come before us and all five candidates will be placed in nomination. We will next ask the City Clerk to Call the Roll. If one candidate receives a majority of the votes, that person will be declared the winner. In the event that no candidate receives a majority on the first ballot, the top two vote getters will move on to a second round. If there is a tie for second place, the top three vote getters will move on.

Each member when their names is called for during the roll should state the name for the candidate whom they are voting for.

Clerk calls the roll-Round 1

Jeffrey Thompson-Jorge Vega

David Teixeira- Jorge Vega

Maria Tavares- Jorge Vega

Timothy Sullivan- Jorge Vega

Robert Sullivan-William Lee Wells III

Judy Sullivan- Jorge Vega

Tony Rodrigues- William Lee Wells III

Moises Rodrigues- William Lee Wells III

Ana Oliver- William Lee Wells III

Susan Nicastro- Jorge Vega

Thomas Minichiello Jr.- Steven C. O'Malley

Jack Lally- Jorge Vega

Philip Griffin- Jorge Vega

Winthrop Farwell Jr.- William Lee Wells III

Jean Bradley Derenoncourt- Steven C. O'Malley

Claudio Depina Gomes- William Lee Wells III

Shirley Asack- Jorge Vega

Joyce Asack- William Lee Wells III

Round One:

2 votes Steven C. O'Malley

9 votes Jorge Vega

7 votes William Lee Wells III

There will be a round two because ten votes are the wins for the majority so the candidates for round two are the two with the most votes which are Jorge Vega and William Lee Wells III.

Clerk calls the roll-Round 2

Jeffrey Thompson-Jorge Vega

David Teixeira- Jorge Vega

Maria Tavares- Jorge Vega

Timothy Sullivan- Jorge Vega

Robert Sullivan-William Lee Wells III

Judy Sullivan- Jorge Vega

Tony Rodrigues- William Lee Wells III

Moises Rodrigues- William Lee Wells III

Ana Oliver- William Lee Wells III
Susan Nicastro- Jorge Vega
Thomas Minichiello Jr.- Jorge Vega
Jack Lally- Jorge Vega
Philip Griffin- Jorge Vega
Winthrop Farwell Jr.- William Lee Wells III
Jean Bradley Derenoncourt- William Lee Wells III
Claudio Depina Gomes- William Lee Wells III
Shirley Asack- Jorge Vega
Joyce Asack- William Lee Wells III

Round Two:

10 votes Jorge Vega8 votes William Lee Wells III

New Ward One School Committee Member is Jorge Vega.

The Mayor thanked everyone again.

Councilor Lally motioned to file for reconsideration with the wish that it not prevail and was properly seconded by Councilor Asack.

Attorney Resnick explained what this means. Yes, means you want to change the vote and No, means you do not.

Reconsideration failed by a hand vote.

Ward one School Committee Mr. Jorge Vega thanked his family and folks who voted and didn't and all other candidates.

Council President Rodrigues, Vice Chair School Committee Rodrigues and Chairman Mayor Sullivan spoke briefly and stated Mr. Vega will be sworn in tomorrow by the City Clerk.

Councilor Lally motioned to adjourned and was properly seconded by Councilor Thompson. The motion carried by a hand vote.

Meeting Adjourned at 7:40PM