January 1, 2018

The Meeting was called to order by the City Clerk at 10:03am

The Color Guard enters.

The Council and School Committee enter the Chamber as announced by the Clerk.

Salute to the flag.

Retire the colors.

The Color Guard exits.

Election of President Pro Temp.

Councillor Eaniri nominated by Councillor Sullivan and seconded by Councillor Farwell. Councillor Cruise will close nominations. Roll call vote- Councillor Eaniri elected President Pro Temp.

President Pro Temp Eaniri appoints Councillors Rodrigues & Lally to examine credentials of newly elected council and school committee members.

Councillor Rodrigues reports that the committee has found the credentials in order.

Report of committee on credentials

Received and placed on file.

President Pro Temp appoints Councillors Monahan & Asack to notify the Mayor Elect that the Council has formed a temporary organization and is ready for the administration of the oaths of office and to receive his inaugural address.

President Pro Temp Calls a recess.

President Pro Temp rapped the gavel three times for everyone to stand and he announced the arrival of the Mayor.

Councillor Monahan reported that the Mayor has been notified that the City Council has formed a temporary organization.

Councillor Asack informed the President Pro Temp that the Mayor's credentials have been examined and found to be in order.

The report was accepted and placed on file.

President Pro Temp requests that the Mayor and guests be escorted to the chair by Councillors Beauregard, Nicastro & Derenoncourt .

President Pro Temp asked everyone to please be seated.

President Pro Temp announced that the Clerk will now administer the oath of office to the Mayor.

The Oath was administered and upon completion the Mayor then signed the Oath book.

President Pro Temp takes a moment of silence for our friends and co-workers that have passed away.

President Pro Temp acknowledged the other elected officials present.

President Pro Temp requested that the members of the City Council please stand and answer "present" as their names are called by the Clerk:

Councillor by Ward:

W-1 Timothy J. Cruise

W-2 Thomas D. Monahan

W-3 Dennis R. Eaniri

W-4 Susan J. Nicastro

W-5 Anne M. Beauregard

W-6 John F. Lally

W-7 Shirley R. Asack

Councillors at Large:

Jean Bradley Derenoncourt

Winthrop H. Farwell Jr.

Moises M. Rodrigues

Robert F. Sullivan

President Pro Temp stated that the Clerk will now administer the Oath of Office to the Councillors Elect.

The Oath was administered and upon completion the Councillors signed the Oath book.

President Pro Temp asked everyone to please stand for the Prayer by Pastor William E. Shelton of the Living Elevated Church.

President Pro Temp asked guests to be seated.

President Pro Temp instructed the Clerk to call the roll of Elected School Committee members and request the members to stand and answer "present" as their names are called.

School Committee:

- W-1 Thomas J. Minichiello Jr.
- W-2 Lisa M. Plant
- W-3 Mark D'Agostino
- W-4 Brett Gormley
- W-5 Judy A. Sullivan
- W-6 Joyce J. Asack
- W-7 Timothy J. Sullivan

President Pro Temp requested the Clerk to administer the Oath of office to the School Committee.

After completion of oath, the School Committee signed the Oath Book.

President Pro Temp stated that he has the honor to present the Honorable Mayor Bill Carpenter who will now deliver his inaugural address.

The Mayor gave his inaugural address. He thanked everyone in attendance and his colleagues and looks forward to another term in office as Mayor of the City of Brockton. He thanked the Patriots Foundation for their generosity of the park equipment donated to the city in the amount of \$250,000. He stated that the City of Brockton will continue to fight drug addiction in the coming years as Mayor. He stated that the Champion Plan is in place and has helped many people in the city.

President Pro Temp introduced the former Mayors that were present: Councillor Winthrop Farwell, Jr. and Jack Yunits.

President Pro Temp thanked Father Raeke and Pastor Shelton

President Pro Temp asked everyone to please stand for the benediction by Father Joseph Raeke of Saint Edith Stein Church.

President Pro Temp called a recess.

The meeting was called back to order.

The City Clerk stated that the Nominations were now open for the Election of the Council President for the year 2018.

Councillor Farwell nominates Councillor Eaniri and is seconded by Councillor Sullivan.

Councillor Cruise moves to close the nominations and is seconded by Councillor Monahan.

The City Clerk states that Councillor Eaniri has been nominated and nominations have been properly closed. The roll was called.

The City Clerk announced the election of new President Eaniri.

The Clerk to the Council asked the Councillors, to please stand as the President of the Council for the year 2018 takes his position.

The Clerk to the Council called Council President Sullivan to hand gavel over to the newly elected Councillor Eaniri.

President Eaniri will present outgoing President Sullivan with his plaque.

President Eaniri thanks Council.

President asked the clerk to read the committees for the year 2018.

The Clerk reads the committees for 2018.

The Council President Eaniri called the meeting adjourned at 11:25pm